Page 1 of 1

GigAlarm 1.31 18 Oct 08 -- Random within

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 3:48 am
by TomGudan
The Mode "Random within" settings are confusing. I get the following results:

settings from Repeat page display from Main page
Repeat Times Alarm will repeat randomly between
5 10 11 15
5 8 9 13
0 8 9 9
0 3 4 4
1 3 4 4
2 3 4 5
3 3 7 9

In the last example above, GigAlarm changed the Repeat Times to 3 6 behind my back when I went to the Main page.

Where is the documentation which explains these results?

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 6:43 am
by Siegfried
Sorry to say, I don't understand your table. I'll do some testing anyway...

Time passes....

I did a test of Random Within being set from 5 to 10 minutes and my results were; 7, 10, 8, 7, 6, 5

EDIT: A few interface issues were noted and fixed. (For example in the alarm window it says that the alarm will repeat time will be 6-10 when it's actually 5 to 10.) These changes will be tested further and released tomorrow.

Re: GigAlarm 1.31 18 Oct 08 -- Random within

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2008 3:24 pm
by TomGudan
All multiple blanks were taken out of my post so the table doesn't look anything like it was when I entered it.

The table lists seven examples of what I keyed into the Repeat page compared to what the Main page displays.

Click Edit on my post and the multiple blanks are restored so you can see the original table.

Let me know if my post is still not adequate and I'll explain it in just a text message.

Since you're not having any problems, perhaps the problem is just with the display on the Main page.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2008 3:49 pm
by Siegfried
TomGudan wrote:All multiple blanks were taken out of my post so the table doesn't look anything like it was when I entered it.

Ahh! Thanks for clarifying; that's much better. However, I did some testing with your data and my results were still good. It's possible though that there was a bug with the version you were using. Is it the official 1.31 or a pre-release? The random function used to work as a Base+Offset, but to make it clearer it was re-designed as a from-to. (It still works the same internally, it's just the interface translates it.) This change was made at a late stage.

In regard to "GigAlarm changed the Repeat Times to 3 6 behind my back" that's a sanity check. If you set it as 3 and 3 the result will be always 3. Since this makes no sense GigAlarm treats it like the function used to work.

GigAlarm 1.311 is still being tested. In the process of looking for potential problems some areas were tweaked and it's best to not rush out bugfixes.

Re: GigAlarm 1.31 18 Oct 08 -- Random within

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2008 10:48 pm
by TomGudan
In further testing, I find that the time range in the Alarm Window after "Next Repeat:" seems to be reasonable but if I do an Edit Alarm and select the Main Page, the time range after "Alarm will repeat randomly between" is very different.

Perhaps it's because I have Summarise checked to display the "Summary" view by default.

The Help .htm file that came with the software says GigAlarm Version 1.31 17 Oct 08.

GigAlarm 1.311

PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 3:52 am
by Siegfried
The new GigAlam is available.

TomGudan wrote:In further testing, I find that the time range in the Alarm Window after "Next Repeat:" seems to be reasonable but if I do an Edit Alarm and select the Main Page, the time range after "Alarm will repeat randomly between" is very different.

Yes, that's one of the bugs that should be fixed now.

TomGudan wrote:The Help .htm file that came with the software says GigAlarm Version 1.31 17 Oct 08.

Thanks. Thanks also for reporting these problems. We were working on a Bugfix for other reasons so your timing couldn't be better!

Re: GigAlarm 1.31 18 Oct 08 -- Random within

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 8:34 pm
by TomGudan
Thanks for the fix.

The first number in the Main window is off by 1 but I can live with that.

Re: GigAlarm 1.31 18 Oct 08 -- Random within

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 1:10 am
by Siegfried
TomGudan wrote:Thanks for the fix.

The first number in the Main window is off by 1 but I can live with that.

I can't! What first number?

Re: GigAlarm 1.31 18 Oct 08 -- Random within

PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2008 5:13 am
by TomGudan
OK. Here's an example directly from the evil database.

The Alarm window says: - - - - - - - - - - -Next Repeat between 36 and 79 minutes

The Summary Window says, under Repeat: Random Within - - 36 - - - 79 - - Minutes

The Main window says: - - Alarm will repeat randomly between 37 and 79 Minutes

The Main window seems to be one off on the first number.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2008 5:56 am
by Siegfried
TomGudan wrote:OK. Here's an example directly from the evil database.

:D Ahh! Yes you're right. Thanks! I was confused when you called it the "Main window". (It's more the main tab or page of the details window. When you said "Main Window" I thought you meant the window with the alarm list.) This is an easy fix.

(...and yes, your database is evil. But in a good way!)